January 30, 2018

Two Hudson Cook partners elected as Fellows of the American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers

Firm now has total of 14 attorneys who have been named Fellows

Hudson Cook, LLP partners Lucy Morris and Ryan Stinneford have been elected as Fellows of the American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers (ACCFSL). Membership in the ACCFSL is limited to those attorneys who have achieved preeminence and made repeated and substantial contributions to the promotion of learning and scholarship in the field of consumer financial services law through teaching, lecturing and published writings.

Lucy Morris

Lucy MorrisA partner in the firm's Washington, DC, office and chair of Hudson Cook's Government Investigations, Examinations and Enforcement Practice Group, Morris counsels financial institutions and others in complying with federal consumer financial laws and prohibitions against unfair, deceptive or abusive trade practices. She is an experienced advocate and litigator, representing clients in government investigations, examinations and enforcement actions before federal and state agencies; in particular, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB), Federal Trade Commission (FTC), U.S. Department of Justice and state Attorney General offices.

Before joining Hudson Cook, Morris served as a founding member of the CFPB Implementation Team that organized the CFPB after passage of the Dodd-Frank Act, and served as a CFPB Deputy Enforcement Director for four years. Before the CFPB, she worked at the FTC for more than 20 years in a variety of leadership positions, including as Assistant Director for Financial Practices. She received the 2008 Chairman's Award, the FTC's highest honor.

Morris is a frequent speaker on a variety of consumer financial services law topics. Speaking engagements include the American Financial Services Association (AFSA), Mortgage Bankers Association (MBA), Consumer Bankers Association (CBA), American Bar Association (ABA), Consumer Data Industry Association (CDIA) and numerous other national programs.

Ryan Stinneford

Ryan StinnefordStinneford, a partner in the firm's Portland, Maine, office, assists clients with a wide variety of federal, Maine and Massachusetts regulatory compliance matters. His retail financial compliance experience includes prepaid access, consumer and commercial deposit products, electronic banking and payment services, consumer finance products (residential mortgages, home equity loans/lines, personal loans/lines, credit cards, student loans, auto loans and leases, and retail installment sales contracts), marketing and advertising issues, privacy and data security issues, and vendor contracting/third-party risk management issues. His representative clients include community, regional and national banks, as well as non-bank lenders and service providers.

For the eighth consecutive year, Stinneford is listed in the 2018 edition of The Best Lawyers in America® in the practice areas of Banking and Finance Law and of Financial Services Regulation Law. He was named the Best Lawyers® Banking and Finance Law "Lawyer of the Year" in Portland, Maine, for 2018 as well as in 2015. Stinneford is a member of the Consumer Financial Services Committee of the American Bar Association's Business Law Section, and served as chair of the committee's Deposit Products and Payment Systems subcommittee from 2008 to 2011and vice chair from 2005 to 2008. He is also a member and former chair of the Consumer and Financial Institutions Law Section of the Maine State Bar Association. Like Morris, Stinneford is also a frequent speaker on a wide variety of consumer financial services topics, as well as legal ethics matters. He has also authored or co-authored nine annual surveys of deposit and payment systems developments published by the American Bar Association in The Business Lawyer.

Morris and Stinneford join 12 other attorneys from the firm who have been previously named as Fellows:

Michael A. Benoit (Washington, DC)
Thomas J. Buiteweg (Ann Arbor, MI)
Robert A. Cook (Hanover, MD) (founding member and current Past President)
Patricia E. M. Covington (Richmond, VA)
Anne P. Fortney (Washington, DC) (founding member; Lifetime Achievement Award winner)
Richard P. Hackett (Portland, ME) (former Regent; chair, 2017 Annual Writing Competition)
Thomas B. Hudson (Hanover, MD) (Past President; ex officio Regent; Lifetime Achievement Award winner)
Joseph ("Jed") E. Mayk (West Chester, PA)
Nicole Frush Munro (Hanover, MD)
L. Jean Noonan (Washington, DC) (founding member; Secretary; former Regent; former chair, Lifetime Achievement Award Committee and Writing Competition Committee)
Joel C. Winston (Washington, DC) (Board of Regents)
Elizabeth C. Yen (New Haven, CT) (chair, 2018 Annual Writing Competition)

Induction of new Fellows will take place at the ACCFSL's Annual Dinner, on Saturday evening, April 14, 2018, in conjunction with the American Bar Association Business Law Section Spring Meeting in Orlando. The Annual Dinner is the ACCFSL's premier event of the year.

Hudson Cook, LLP, provides articles, webinars and other content on its website from time to time provided both by attorneys with Hudson Cook, LLP, and by other outside authors, for information purposes only. Hudson Cook, LLP, does not warrant the accuracy or completeness of the content, and has no duty to correct or update information contained on its website. The views and opinions contained in the content provided on the Hudson Cook, LLP, website do not constitute the views and opinion of the firm. Such content does not constitute legal advice from such authors or from Hudson Cook, LLP. For legal advice on a matter, one should seek the advice of counsel.
© 2022 Hudson Cook, LLP. All rights reserved.